Arkansas: Possum Pie

 

I started writing this post and realized the only thing I know about Arkansas is that I always read Arkansas as “Arkan-Sauce,” which my second grade teacher told us was extremely impolite to actually say to someone from Arkansas.

So I’ll just get right to the recipe, which is Possum Pie. I was delighted that this was considered a classic in this state, as only a Midwesterner would (read: hillbilly recipe). When I plugged in my normal search into Pinterest, though, this is truly what came up. In fairness, we all have our weird desserts. In the Midwest we have Puppy Chow, for example.

This has been my favorite recipe yet, possibly because everything was instant and could not have been easier to make. I stuck pretty much to the classic recipe, but I have to admit I added some chopped up dark chocolate and I didn’t add pecans because I ran out, sorry! The chocolate added great texture and contrast to the not-so-chocolate-y pudding combination. My testers all said this would be even better with a peanut butter layer, someone notify Arkansas! This recipe was adapted from Taste of Home.

19511783_10210984951473127_87874123_n

Ingredients:

9 inch graham cracker crust

6 ounces of cream cheese

¾ cup of powdered sugar

pinch of salt (optional)

¼ cup of chopped pecans (optional topping)

1 ¾ cup of cold milk

2/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

¼ cup of vanilla instant pudding mix

1/3 cup of chocolate instant pudding mix

½ cup dark chocolate (chopped)

½ heavy whipping cream (topping)

Directions

  1. Mix powdered sugar and cream cheese until smooth.
  2. Place this mixture into the graham cracker crust.
  3. In a clean mixing bowl, whisk vanilla and chocolate instant pudding mixes with milk.
  4. Add vanilla extract and pinch of salt, combine.
  5. Let rise for about two minutes (so it looks like pudding)
  6. Add the optional chopped chocolate.
  7. Apply over the cream cheese in the graham cracker crust.
  8. Add the optional pecans now, or later on top of the whipped cream.
  9. Refrigerate for at least four hours (mine sat overnight)
  10. Whip up the heavy cream.
  11. Before serving, you can apply the heavy whipped cream over the whole pie so you have a nice layered look when you cut in. Or you can apply a generous dollop to each slice before serving.

19489588_10210984950153094_359461038_n.jpg

Leave a Reply

